Chat conversations can finally be deleted in Microsoft Teams from December. The option will be available in the desktop and mobile versions of the chat application.
Microsoft Teams is immensely popular because of its deep integration with Microsoft 365. However, the call and video conferencing service is not perfect. For example, once you open conversations, you cannot delete them from your chat list. This can lead to irritation, especially if you regularly participate in meetings: the app opens a separate conversation for every meeting.
Delete chats in Microsoft Teams
The roadmap of Microsoft 365 shows that this will change in the short term. Namely, the list of upcoming features refers to a feature to delete chat conversations. It would concern personal, group and meeting conversations.
Microsoft writes in its roadmap that deleting chats “will not affect what others see in chat conversations.” After you have removed a chat from your own chat list, the content of the chat will therefore still be accessible to other participants. It is unknown whether you will definitively leave group and meeting conversations with this function. In addition, it is unknown whether deleting a one-on-one conversation will permanently clear the chat history for yourself.
Deleting chats will be possible by clicking on the three dots in the chat list and selecting the option of ‘Delete chat’.
Widely available in December
In its roadmap, Microsoft assumes general availability in December. It may be several weeks from early December before everyone sees the Teams feature. According to Microsoft, the ‘Delete chat’ option is rolling out to the desktop and mobile versions of Teams.