Former world cruiserweight champion Tony Bellew (30-3-1, 20 KO) shared his opinion about the low blow in the fight between WBA, WBO, IBO and IBF heavyweight champion Alexander Usik (21-0, 14 KOs) and Briton Daniel Dubois (19-2, 18 KO).
“I believe that the blow hit Usik’s shell, and boxers put on protection for a reason. People say Dubois hit him in the navel. Let’s be very clear: this was the belt line, and like I said, boxers use the shell for a reason. When you get into protection, it protects you, but at the same time the shell rises up.
Just look at the kick. I watched the replay about ten times. You can send me as many frames as you want, but Usyk reacted to this blow like a man who was truly shocked. However, he personally came out and said that if the referee had opened the scoring, he would have jumped to his feet. But the referee didn’t start counting the knockdown, and that’s the problem,” Bellew told YouTube channel Safe Betting Sites.
On the night of August 26-27, Alexander Usyk defended his titles in a confrontation against the “regular” WBA champion Daniel Dubois.